You may be familiar with some obvious laws in California. For instance, it is always illegal to get behind the wheel of a car and drive intoxicated. It is also always illegal to rob somebody at gunpoint. However, new laws are being implemented each year and it is in your best interest to stay up-to-date with the latest news. Now you can find out more about some new specific laws being implemented on January 1, 2016. The New Year is right around the corner and you should be prepared for anything!
MW-2014: This law regarding minimum wage, when enacted, will raise minimum wage to $10 per hour. This is a jump from what was previously enacted in 2014 at $8 an hour.
SB-277: On Vaccines, this law goes into effect beginning New Year’s Day but will not take full effect until July when schools begin vetting students into schools. The bill requires full vaccination for most children to enroll in schools.
SB-178: Under these privacy laws, law enforcement will now have to obtain search warrants before they are able to gain access to your emails, text messages, Internet search history, and other personal digital data.
AB-775: This bill, known as the Reproductive FACT Act, will require licensed facilities offering pregnancy-related services to post signs advertising the free or low-cost access of family planning services, prenatal care, and abortion.
SB-707: This senate bill will prohibit all concealed firearms from college campuses and K-12 schools.
SB-61: The existing ignition interlock device (IID) will be extended until July 1, 2017. This means, if you are convicted of a DUI, you will need to install an IID for five months on a first offense, one year on a second offense, two years on a third offense, and three years on a forth or subsequent offense.
SB-491: This law prevents drivers from wearing headsets or earphones in or over both ears while they are driving either a vehicle or a bicycle. However, it does not include safety earplugs while operating authorized emergency vehicles.
AB-604: There are also new laws regarding the use of electrically motorized skateboards. If you own one, you should know that the law will restrict use of the boards in public facilities and require them to be operated with safety equipment like a helmet. Riders must also be 16 years or older to operate, wear equipment to make them visible, and travel less than 35 miles per hour. If you violate these laws you could face a fine of $250.
AB-1461: If you apply for a driver’s license or ID card, you will be automatically registered to vote.
AB-208: All slow-moving passenger vehicles will be required to pull over safely to let traffic pass. This adds bicycles to the list of vehicles as well (Hooks).
Yes, you may find that there are many new laws for the upcoming year in California, and many new things to stay aware of. You may find it in your best interest to call a lawyer you can trust if you run into any legal help this coming year. Call The Law Office of Peter Blair for more information on what you can do when you have nowhere else to turn.
Attorney Advertising. This web site is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. The hiring of an attorney is an important decision. The information you obtain in this website is not, nor is it intended to be legal advice. You should contact an attorney for individual advice regarding your situation.