Now that you’ve taken the quiz, you can discover even more about drunk driving as it applies to the laws in California. You may be interested to know that, in 2014 alone, 9,967 people were killed in drunk driving crashes. Every day in America, 28 people die as a result of these crashes. What would happen if they were even more preventable? What would happen if people took caution as they drove and never got behind a steering wheel after drinking? These numbers could be reduced.
Because of the fact that drunk driving accidents can be so serious, resulting in massive property damage and fees as well as serious injuries, harsh penalties are enacted to keep drunk drivers off the roads. In our quiz, you may have seen the minimum penalties for a misdemeanor of a first DUI conviction in California. However, if the judge decides to give you the maximum penalties, you could be facing an outstanding $1,000 fine plus approximately $2,600 in penalty assessments, imprisonment, a six-month license suspension, and more! Along with this, a new trend is grasping California in which judges will install an “interlock” breath device to your vehicle. This device does not allow the car to start if there is any alcohol on your breath. This costs you up to $800 and even more in some situations.
Furthermore, if you are under the age of 18, you should know that California has “no tolerance” laws, which means that you are not able to drink and should certainly not be driving drunk at 18, much less any age. For a California DUI, if you are under 21, your BAC only needs to be .01% to receive DUI charges and penalties. In California, drunk driving is never tolerated! This means that you could face penalties of thousands of dollars in fines, months of your driver’s license lost, and months in prison depending on the circumstances surrounding your case. So take this word of advice – do not drink and drive. Not only will it lead to strict consequences forever changing your life, but you or another driver could be killed.