Defense attorney Peter Blair has taken on the case of a 25-year-old woman who was secretly videotaped by her stepfather for over three years.
The woman began living with her stepfather when she was 13 years old. She told ABC 10 News that she loved him as a father and never suspected what was going on.
“I feel betrayed,” she said. “I feel violated.”
Six months ago, the woman’s mother found more than 80 secretly recorded video, taken over a span of three years, on an external hard drive. Most of the videos show the woman in her Escondido and San Marcos homes, usually in the bathroom or bedroom right after showering. Many of the videos show the suspect placing a hidden camera somewhere in the room, such as a house plant or a laundry basket, before the woman appears.
“When I saw the videos, I was in shock,” she said. “My body was shaking. I couldn’t believe it.”
One recovered video also shows the 66-year-old suspect placing a hidden camera under a secretary’s desk at his plumbing business, and in another video, he places the hidden camera before having sex with other women.
The recovered videos all show the woman as an adult, but she believes there are other hard drives that have gone missing that could contain more footage. At this point, it is unclear if anyone else has seen the videos, where the videos are located, and whether or not the videos could have been sold to a third party.
“I mean, there’s so many names I just can call him, but what I feel inside is so much betrayal and violation. He is a pig and just disgusting,” she told ABC 10 News. “I believe he is a danger to society and a danger to women. I hope any other women who find themselves in this type of situation will come forward and not be afraid.”
California Penal Code 647 PC details California’s invasion of privacy laws. Using a concealed camera to secretly videotape someone with the intent to invade his or her privacy is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. However, a second violation of privacy invasion laws can land you up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $2,000.